“Right, based on what you’ve told me, you might like this book. There’s only one problem – I haven’t finished it, and I always try to make sure I’ve read something before I lend it to students.”

“Why?”

“Well, you see, some years ago I had a book on my desk that I was going to read on the bus home that afternoon. A student asked if she could borrow it and I said yes. A few days later, she came and saw me and said ‘That book was pretty extreme. I don’t think I was old enough to read it.’ So I said she’d better give it back, and she said ‘I can’t, I’ve given it to this other girl.’ So over the next few months I had students come up and tell me that they didn’t think they were old enough to read it but had done so regardless and passed it to their friends. After I eventually got it back, I told this to my flatmate at the time, and she read it before I did. I asked her what she thought of the book, and, at the age of 23, she said ‘I don’t think I was old enough to read that.’ So, as I say, I try to make sure I’ve read whatever I lend you.”

“Well… do you have that book you’re talking about?”

“You mean do I have the book that could have got me fired if anyone found out I lent it to teenagers? The book that was objectively scarring to a wide array of people?”

“Yes.”

“What do you think? It’s in my cupboard over there, I’ll just get for you…”

Leave a comment

February 7, 2013 · 8:52 am

Leave a Reply

