Book The Forty-Second

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Cameron is a typical teenaged boy, facing up to the problems of adolescence. Sadly, in Cameron’s case, that also includes contracting Mad Cow disease and, depending on how you look at things, either hallucinating wildly or having the veil lifted off reality and questing to save the world from a quantum-travelling mad scientist and extra-dimensional fire gods.

This book is everything I had hoped for. Expertly written, and completely mad. When I read the Gemma Doyle trilogy, Bray’s writing impressed me far more than the story, which was, elves and the like aside, a parable for being a teenage girl. To be fair, Going Bovine may not be less of a parable, but it s one for being a teenage boy, which I was once. Cameron’s confusion, defeatism and rabid inconsistency certainly made him like every teenage boy that I ever was.

Highly recommended.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment