Book The Ninety-Sixth

Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman

I know, I know, I said no more young adult books, but there was a sale, and I’ve been keeping an eye out for this since I saw the movie they made. I know it was a bit crap, but it had Billie Piper in it, so, y’know…

The plot, such as it is, follows Sally Lockhart and various people she encounters as she uncovers a conspiracy surrounding the supposedly accidental death of her father.

Having read Pullmans Dark Materials trilogy, I got what I expected from this book: fairly lifeless prose and directionless storytelling where the high concept was let down by the execution. I mean, I’ve certainly read worse, but I’ve read a lot better as well.

Of course, I picked up the entire quartet, so the next few weeks of my life will doubtlessly consist of alternating between these and Harry Potter.

I’m sure this isn’t what I pictured for my life when I was growing up…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Book The Ninety-Sixth

  1. Pingback: Book The One Hundredth « Somethingarchy

Leave a Reply

